Treadmill vs Pavement

Leave a comment

I stayed in a hotel on  Thursday & Friday and was lucky enough to have time to use the gym.  I had intended to go for a run as the weather was nice, but then I changed my mind as I don’t like running when I don’t know a route.

So I went to the gym and had a go on the treadmill.  I really don’t like running on treadmills.  I have had debates with people who always run on treadmills as to the pros and cons, and whilst I see the many benefits of treadmills, I just don’t like running on them.  I even know someone who did their entire marathon training on a treadmill.

They are of course kinder on your joints, but I find the smoothness and lack of variety plain boring.  I also find it makes the focus of the run all about time rather than distance.  However hard I try not to look at the clock I find myself sneaking a peak far too often, which makes it go soooo slowly.

Running outside suits me so much better because  once you pick a route – particularly circular route – and you set off, you are committed to running that distance.  At any rate it works much better for me because I’m lazy and will look for any excuse to cut it short.

And you have the benefit of being outdoors, breathing in the fresh air and taking in some lovely scenery.

So, I’ll stick with the great outdoors thank you!

A view from one of my holiday runs

Leave a Reply

