Less than two weeks to go…

6 Comments

So dear reader (I’m hoping there is at least one of you….) here we are in April with less than two weeks to go until the marathon. I don’t feel very prepared but apparently that is a common feeling during tapering (the winding down phase of training).

I have followed the training programme almost to the letter. I’ve missed one long run as I have a small niggle in my hip that got particularly painful, to the extent that I had to stop and walk during one of my speed sessions. And then I had to go away for work and couldn’t fit in more than one session (on the dreadmill). And i did manage to fit in rather too much beer and chips (carb-loading anyone?). But I am proud to say that I did manage to get up at 6am the day after I got back and run 18 miles before we went away for a few days over Easter (lots of eating again).

I have got to the point where I am completely fed up with running, with getting up at 6am in sub-zero temperatures to run. There have even been days when I have contemplated pulling out.

But it was all put into perspective tonight when my darling friend Winky said: “when the going gets tough, remember what a brilliant cause you are doing it for. Research and development into new drugs literally saved my life. Without herceptin my future wouldn’t be looking so rosy. You go girl!”

Amen to that.

That really is all the inspiration I need to get me round those 26.2 miles.

Ps. If you haven’t managed to sponsor me yet and you’d still like to, here’s the link http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserPage.action?userUrl=MadeleineWaters&faId=257911&isTeam=false. And if you already have, thank you so very much

20130408-231747.jpg

6 thoughts on “Less than two weeks to go…

  1. I’m still here and I’m SO excited for you! I understand totally the being fed up with running thing. I stopped running for 5 years after running London! Think about signing up for something short but different and exciting afterwards, like a trail 10k! But your training sounds spot on , you’re going to rock it!!!!

Leave a Reply

