My final post before my final marathon

4 Comments

Yes, this is my second and very last marathon.  Now that I’m in London and all packed and ready for the morning, I’m very excited and just a little nervous too.

I have spent the week preparing – chiropractor and acupuncture on Wednesday to ease a very stiff neck/shoulder which seems to have done the trick.  Sports massage on Friday for a final loosen off of those muscles and I feel in good shape.

I’ve eaten lots of carbs over the last 3 days.  Funnily enough when I gave myself free reign to eat what I wanted this week, I have eaten pretty healthily.  Except of the odd slip up….

Carb loading anyone?

Carb loading anyone?.

A delicious piece of carrot cake (my real weakness) from Jamie’s Deli in Bath.  It was so big that I thought I would eat half one day and save the second half for the next. But I didn’t.

I do feel that I haven’t done nearly as many miles as last time – and I haven’t because I’ve followed a very different programme this time which only has 3 runs a week, and the longest run of 3 hours.  I feel like it’s been very focused, with each run serving a very specific purpose.  Now let’s see if it works…!  The good thing is that I get to meet George Anderson tomorrow as he is running the pacing group for the 4:45 group.  I am going to start off with them and see how I go as I really can’t face the whole thing on my own.

I am staying with my friends Ruth & Tim tonight (who are out celebrating Ruth’s birthday). I’ve collected my runner’s pack from the lovely Sally who collected it for me saving me a trip to London to the Expo.  We are meeting at 7.20 tomorrow to travel to the start together. I’m very glad I have someone to go with otherwise I think I would be even more nervous.

People have been fantastic – sponsoring me and sending me messages of encouragement all day.

So, here I am less than 12 hours before the start.  All ready.  Just need a good night’s sleep now….

All packed and ready to go....

All packed and ready to go….

4 thoughts on “My final post before my final marathon

Leave a Reply

